Matbucha – Morrocan salad ~ מטבוחה מרוקאית

So this is a cooked tomato and hot pepper salad and is very popular in middle eastern countries, it’s the equivalent of what we know in America as “salsa” – it’s so easy to make. virtually foolproof. and really delicious.

I know I know, if you read my “about me” section, you are probably wondering why I’m  posting a Salad recipe. I hate salad. But my husband loves this salad and it is a tradition in my house – dating all the way back to my great great grandparents houses.  So once a week, on Shabbat, I put a salad on my table. Matbucha means “cooked” in Moroccan Arabic because it is cooked in a pot, and then chilled in the refrigerator before serving. People usually eat matbucha spread on challah bread or as a dip for bread. I eat it when it’s still hot – with tortilla chips, but that’s just me 🙂

Ingredients

1 28 ounce can whole plum tomatoes (we use the Hunts brand)

1 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped (with the seeds)

2 long green peppers (the thin, light green ones), finely chopped (with the seeds)

6 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1/3 cup oil

1 1/2 tablespoons paprika (for that strong red color, as well as great flavor)

salt, to taste

Directions

Empty oil, and the can of tomatoes into a big pot.  Turn the heat on very low.

Finely chop peppers and garlic – chop them until they are almost like a pulp (very finely)  and place into pot.

Add Paprika. Mix lightly with a spoon. Adjust to medium heat and cook for 50 minutes without touching.

After 50 minutes, stir ingredients. Turn off the heat and with a fork or masher, mash the tomatoes completely. Add salt.  (I added about a teaspoon and a bit)

Let the matbucha cool inside the pot, then transfer it to a container and chill in the refrigerator for a bit. It is a very spicy salad!

This salad will keep for a week in the refrigerator.

Note:

We have a food ritual every Shabbat. We spread humus, tehina and matbucha  on a slice of challah bread, and top it off with a warm slice of fried eggplant. It is absolutely amazing!!

[side note.. some people make this salad with a red bell pepper. for a stronger red color. But the bell pepper makes the salad sweeter so I leave it out. Some people also roast the bell pepper before chopping it into the salad. I omit that completely because I don’t feel it’s necessary. If you love bell peppers you can add 1/4 or a 1/2 finely chopped red bell pepper.]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment